Floyd County Republican Party Chairman Shawn Carruthers announced today that the Party will hold a caucus of Republican Precinct Committee Persons for the purpose of electing a new Prosecuting Attorney.  Floyd County Prosecuting Attorney Keith Henderson passed away Saturday August 1st.

The caucus will meet on Thursday, August 27, 2020, the newly elected Prosecuting Attorney will be announced following the caucus.

Those interested in being on the caucus ballot for Floyd County Prosecuting Attorney should contact Floyd County Republican Party Chairman Shawn Carruthers at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., for additional information.   Required forms must be completed, notarized and submitted prior to Monday, August 24, 2020, at 6:00 p.m.



Keith Henderson was born on January 25, 1961 at Clark Memorial Hospital. He is preceded in death by his loving parents, Nancy (Aboud) Henderson and Lindsey “Junie” Henderson Jr. Keith enjoyed his childhood in Charlestown, Indiana and attended Saint Michael’s Catholic Church and grade school. He graduated from Providence High School in 1979. He received a Bachelor of Arts in Criminal Justice from Valparaiso University and a J.D. from the Louis D. Brandeis School of Law at the University of Louisville. Keith went on to serve as an Indiana State Trooper who served as First Sergeant and Legal Advisor for the Indiana State Police. He was appointed to the Office of Prosecutor in Crawford County, Indiana on March 13, 1998 and elected to a full term the following November. In 2002, Mr. Henderson was elected to the Office of the Floyd County Prosecutor and he served with dedication as such since January 1, 2003, having won re-election in 2006, 2010, 2014, and 2018. Mr. Henderson instructed law enforcement agencies and Prosecuting Attorney Councils at conferences and lectures within the Southern Indiana region and across the country. He served as a featured speaker for the International Association for Identification, the Missouri Capital Litigation Conference, and frequently lectured for the Indiana Prosecuting Attorney’s Council.

Mr. Henderson served as a member of the Board of Directors for the Indiana Prosecuting Attorney’s Council and a past Chairman. He served for several years as Chairman of its Ethics Committee and on the Indiana Supreme Court Rules Committee.

In December 2010, Mr. Henderson was selected by his peers as the Indiana representative to the National District Attorneys Association (NDAA) to represent the interests of Indiana prosecutors. He served on its Executive Committee and testified before Congress on issues of concern to law enforcement and prosecutors.

As Floyd County Prosecutor, Keith received the Excellence in Legal Advocacy Award from the Harrison/Crawford County Bar Association, the Home Run Hitters Award of Excellence by the National District Attorney’s Association, the Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) Louisville-Metro Outstanding Service Award, and the 2009 Family and Children’s Place Gold Medal Award for his outstanding work in the community on behalf of children. In 2013, he received the Justice/Law Enforcement Red Ribbon award from Our Place Drug & Alcohol Services. Keith was an active member of Holy Family Catholic Church in New Albany, Indiana. He helped found the Knights of the Holy Temple at the Parish, a group of high school young men to serve as altar servers and was also on the Liturgical planning committee and was a lector and Eucharistic Minister. He enjoyed coaching New Albany City Youth football teams, taking a team for several years to a regional tournament in Owensboro, Kentucky. Keith was, most importantly, a loving and dedicated husband to his wife, Amy, and father to his three children. He passed on to his children his devout Catholic faith, his search for excellence in life, and his belief in the importance of helping and serving others. He was an avid runner, having run the Louisville Mini-Marathon for 34 consecutive years, most recently in 2018. He enjoyed throwing a football with Andrew, driving a golfcart to watch Andrew and Alexandria play golf, working in the prosecutor’s office with his esteemed and beloved colleagues and friends, seeing Anastasia get married in the fall, and spending time with his family at home. He served the Floyd County community with honor and integrity. His faith was evident to all who knew him. He was a loyal friend, brother and son, and a beloved husband, father and uncle. He will be missed and remembered always. “As for me, I am already being poured out as a libation, and the time of my departure has come. I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.” (2 Timothy 4: 6-7)

Keith is survived by his wife, Dr. Amy (Hallal) Henderson, children Anastasia (Chris) McCaffrey, Alexandria and Keith “Andrew” II, sisters Kathryn (Jerry) Jacobi, Carolyn (Rick) Fox, parents-in-law Dr. Eli and Susan Hallal and loving brothers- and sisters-in-law and nieces and nephews.

Visitation will be at Kraft Funeral Service, 708 E. Spring St., New Albany from 1:00PM - 8:00PM Thursday. Funeral Mass of Christian Burial will be 11:30AM Friday at Holy Family Catholic Church with burial to follow in Queen of Heaven Cemetery, Jeffersonville, IN.

In lieu of flowers please send donations to Holy Family Catholic Church or Our Lady of Providence High School. Online condolences may be made at kraftfuneralservice.net.